top of page

Burton Flea Market


There is something about summer that says let's go to a flea market! Jerry and I joined friends for the annual Burton Flea Market in Burton Ohio. It is in the heart of Amish country so we saw many Amish enjoying the day out.

We really do not have room for one more thing (well maybe one...) but I love to see the displays. I am weak for old quilts and saw many.

And it is so much fun to see things you used to have...and wonder now what ever happened to them...

The baby shoes were so sweet...

This just fascinated me. For about a year I asked everyone I knew if they had a skeleton key I could borrow to open an old piece of furniture we have. Someone finally came through,.

I almost weakened with the toy solders picturing them as favors at my next dinner party.

I loved the little skaters...

My friend is weak for jewelry and we saw plenty...

This stunning couple had a booth full of jewelry and possibly the nicest we saw all day. And she was dressed retro enough to fit right in with her booth.

We have a friend who collects root beer items and we actually tried to call him...not that we could have fit it in the car.

I was one of those girls who played with and cherished her dolls, so of course, this booth swept me away.

And they were all in such good shape...

When it comes to any thing Walt Disney I stop dead in my tracks.

I looked long and hard at these guys...

Many of you who have joined us here at Her Majesty's English Tea Room know we collect old children's stoves and serve our children's meals on them. These were pretty cute.

I had never seen toy bath tubs....

How sweet is this umbrella?

Great pottery...

There's something about a flea market...maybe it is going down memory lane. Maybe it is lusting after toys I wanted as a child and still coveted when I saw them. Maybe it is the loving care that has made so many items survive. And the memories of a simpler time. I'm not sure. I like to decorate with old things, and think about the people who had them before me. And take the chill off today.

Regardless, it is a lovely way to spend a day. I can't recommend it enough.

Jacqueline Gillam Fairchild--author: Make Me Over, Estate of Mind, The Scrap Book Trilogy, Greater Expectations. youtu.be/HK3_bUCqbWE. jgfairchild.wix.com/tea-room-life

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page